Understanding the Florida CLE Requirement

Total CLE Requirement:

30 credit hours every three years (2 of which have to be taken with the Florida Bar, free of charge)<br/><br/> **IMPORTANT UPDATE** <br/><br/> Effective January 8th, 2024, the Supreme Court of Florida amended Bar Rule 6-10.3(b) (Minimum Hourly Continuing Legal Education Requirements): <br/><br/> 1. The overall CLE requirement is reduced from 33 to 30 hours per reporting cycle. <br/><br/> 2. Bar members are required to complete a two-hour legal professionalism course produced by The Florida Bar and approved by the Court during each reporting cycle. This two- hour course, which the Bar will offer free of charge, replaces the existing one-hour professionalism program requirement. <br/> <br/> 3. Bias Elimination is removed from the requirement that “at least 5 of the 30 credit hours must be in approved legal ethics, professionalism, substance abuse, or mental health and wellness programs.” Courses in “bias elimination” that meet The Florida Bar’s general course approval requirements will continue to count toward fulfilling Bar members’ overall 30- hour CLE requirement, but such courses will no longer count toward fulfillment of the five-hour sub-requirement specified in the rule.

Credit Format:

All credits may be completed online

Credit Breakdown:

22 hours General

At least 3 hours in Technology

At least 5 hours in Legal Ethics, Professionalism, Substance Abuse, or Mental Health and Wellness Programs.
As part of the 5 credit hours in Legal Ethics during each reporting cycle, attorneys must complete the 2-credit Florida Legal Professionalism course produced by The Florida Bar and approved by the Supreme Court of Florida.

Compliance Deadline:

Individual by Attorney

Reporting Deadline:

Attorneys are assigned individual compliance and reporting deadlines upon admission to the Bar. Please contact The Florida Bar for more information on your deadline date.

Reporting Information:

Florida is a self-reporting jurisdiction.

Newly Admitted Requirement:

All Florida Bar members in good standing under the age of 36 and all members in good standing who have not been admitted to the practice of law in any jurisdiction for more than 5 years is a member of the Young Lawyers Division (Rule 1.9.1 of the Rules Regulating The Florida Bar).

There two phases to the BSCR (Rule 6-12.3). They are:

Phase I: Completion of Practicing with Professionalism (PWP) within the first year of admission to The Florida Bar.

Phase II: Completion of 3 basic level programs (or 21 hours of basic level programming) within the first three years of admission to The Florida Bar. Basic level courses that satisfy the BSCR requirement will begin with the term “Basic” in its title (i.e. Basic Criminal Law, Basic Trial Practice, Basic Real Property, etc.), and sponsored by the Young Lawyers Division of The Florida Bar.

State Contact Information:

Why Choose TRTCLE?

Accessible Everywhere

Accessible Everywhere

Access our content from the web, mobile devices, and even iPads. Anytime, anywhere.

Top Faculty

Top Faculty

Our curated team of lecturers is comprised of only the brightest minds in the legal profession.

Approved Courses

Approved for Florida credit.

TRTCLE is an accredited Florida CLE provider.

No matter where you practice, our courses can help you satisfy your CLE credits.

Live Lectures

Daily Lectures Across
the Nation

Learn when it’s most convenient for you with our comprehensive schedule of live and online courses.

Video

Highest Quality Video Content

Watch online courses with crystal-clear audio and video so you never have to miss a single word.

Teleconferences

Instant Certification

Receive your course certification within minutes of completing a course.