About This Bundle

Our Virginia Live Bundle allows you to complete 4 Live credits, the minimum required Live portion of your VA CLE requirement. Presented by experienced faculty, our teleconferences cover a variety of relevant course topics and make for an interactive and engaging way for attorneys to meet their Live credit requirements. Our teleconferences are approved for Live credit in Virginia and are offered daily.

Upcoming Virginia Live Courses

Jun. 13, 2024

Professionalism: Key to Ethical Lawyering and Trustworthy Justice

As Frank Sinatra sang about love and marriage, “You can’t have one without the other.” Old Blue Eyes could have just as quickly (and more accurately) been crooning about professionalism and the Model Rules of Professional Conduct, now adopted in some form by all U.S jurisdictions. As they are, the Rules in every jurisdiction can act as a trap, luring otherwise competent and ethical lawyers into mistakes and dangerous assumptions that can harm clients and the lawyers themselves. Professionalism is the quality that makes lawyers trustworthy and is the crucial element in the legal ethics equation, for it renders the generalizations and often outdated declarations of the so-called “laws of lawyering” into practical and versatile guidance.

This program explores some of the most perplexing and long-lasting practice challenges that the Rules of Professional Conduct emphatically do not solve and uses them to demonstrate how professionalism, far from representing some unrealistic ideal, serves as a crucial tool in resolving the problem to the benefit of all concerned, especially the justice system itself.

Professionalism: The Essential Ingredient of Ethical Lawyering and a Trustworthy Justice System will engage, challenge, and enlighten practitioners at all levels who want to hone their skills at recognizing these critical situations when they arise, enhancing their skill at handling them effectively, competently, and in the best traditions of their profession.

Learning Objectives:

  • Recognize the limits of mere formal compliance with the ethics rules, as well as understand how they should be used and why they must be regularly reconsidered
  • Master “ethics chess,” the process of recognizing and anticipating ethics issues in legal practice at the earliest possible time
  • Develop tools and techniques to address common legal ethics dilemmas by considering and discussing challenging hypothetical situations based on actual cases


Course Time Schedule:

Eastern Time: 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Central Time: 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Mountain Time: 7:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Pacific Time: 6:00 AM - 8:00 AM
Alaska Time: 5:00 AM - 7:00 AM
Hawaii-Aleutian Time: 4:00 AM - 6:00 AM

This course is also being presented on the following dates:

Thursday, June 27, 2024
Thursday, July 25, 2024
Thursday, August 29, 2024
Thursday, September 26, 2024
Thursday, October 17, 2024

LEARN MORE >
Professionalism: Key to Ethical Lawyering and Trustworthy Justice

Jun. 13, 2024

Legal Ethics XY, XX, Sex, Gender

Virtually all states' Rules of Professional Conduct prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex in setting and enforcing legal-ethics standards, and many states also include rules specifically governing the subject of sexual activity between lawyers and clients. This program examines these topics, as well as the legal definition of gender and how gender dysphoria can or should affect it. Could there ever be a circumstance warranting differing treatment of lawyers based on sex that would not be reasonably deemed improper discrimination? Should sexual activity between lawyers and clients be regulated by a single nationwide standard, or left up to the discretion of each state? How might gender dysphoria and the legal definition of gender affect these rules and standards? This program will discuss all these questions and more in an interactive, seminar-type environment.

This program is open to attorneys of all levels and areas interested in learning more about and discussing the legal-ethics concerns of sex and gender.

Learning Objectives:

  • Analyze the issues of sexual inequality in regards to lawyer-lawyer situations and lawyer-client situations
  • Explore the different state-wide standards (or lack of standards) regarding sexual activity between lawyers and clients
  • Discuss the absence of national standards for sexual activity between lawyers and clients, and whether such a standard would be beneficial
  • Discuss the importance of the attorney-client relationship and how such laws might affect it
  • Discuss the differences between “rule of law” standards and “rule of men” standards
  • Discuss the legal definition of gender and the bearing that gender dysphoria has on it


Course Time Schedule:

Eastern Time: 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Central Time: 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Mountain Time: 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Pacific Time: 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Alaska Time: 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Hawaii-Aleutian Time: 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

This course is also being presented on the following dates:

Monday, June 24, 2024
Sunday, June 30, 2024
Tuesday, July 9, 2024
Wednesday, July 17, 2024
Wednesday, July 24, 2024

LEARN MORE >
Legal Ethics XY, XX, Sex, Gender

Jun. 14, 2024

Litigation Strategies for Environmental Justice

This comprehensive course examines the current landscape of litigation strategies available to communities affected by toxic waste. Attendees will acquire the knowledge and tools necessary to assess federal legislative attempts to amend Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, allowing for environmental racism claims based on disparate impact. Furthermore, they will explore state laws that establish enhanced environmental safeguards for communities facing greater health risks due to environmental harm. Additionally, the course evaluates the overall limitations of the existing environmental justice legal framework in providing remedies for the full spectrum of environmental harms faced by indigenous, minority, underserved, and economically disadvantaged communities.

Delving into the history and contemporary operation of the U.S. federal regulatory framework for waste classification, detection, disposal, and remediation, this course offers a comprehensive understanding of the current landscape. Participants will also examine the constraints of the existing legal standard of discriminatory intent under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 in addressing the disproportionate environmental burdens experienced by minority communities throughout the United States. By delving into the array of current and potential litigation strategies available to claimants alleging environmental harms, attendees will gain valuable insights into effective legal avenues for seeking justice.

This course is designed for attorneys at all levels of practice who are eager to expand their understanding of environmental justice. By exploring the complexities and nuances of litigation strategies in this realm, participants will be equipped to advocate for impacted communities with greater insight and effectiveness.

Learning Objectives:

  • Introduce the taxonomy and legal history of the Environmental Justice (EJ) movement including key figures in litigation and legislation
  • Evaluate the largely unsuccessful attempts of the EJ movement to activate §601 of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 to remedy alleged discriminatory effects of environmental issues including locally undesirable land uses (LULUs)
  • Clarify the significance of toxic and hazardous waste issues in the United States including providing classification of categories of waste, nationwide mapping of sites of various forms of waste, and current methods of disposal
  • Provide an overview of the federal regulatory framework for waste disposal including limitations of extant legislation, funding for regulatory bodies, and length of regulatory review process
  • Identify statutory and practical limitations of enforcement for each of the federal laws including given the limited resources of the EPA’s Office of Environmental Justice, complexity of transboundary pollution issues, and weak track record of enforcement
  • Evaluate the possibility of federal legislation to permit environmental racism claims based upon discriminatory impact along with state legislation to increase protections for marginalized societal groups
  • Address the limitations of the Environmental Justice movement to encompass the cultural and economic needs of indigenous, minority, and marginalized groups given the focus on equal protection and identifying racial animus in environmental racism claims


Course Time Schedule:

Eastern Time: 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Central Time: 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Mountain Time: 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Pacific Time: 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Alaska Time: 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Hawaii-Aleutian Time: 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

This course is also being presented on the following dates:

Friday, July 5, 2024
Friday, July 26, 2024
Friday, August 16, 2024
Friday, September 6, 2024
Friday, September 27, 2024

LEARN MORE >
Litigation Strategies for Environmental Justice

Jun. 15, 2024

Interrogation of Juveniles: Miranda, Voluntariness, and the Right to Counsel

This course explores why juvenile confessions may not be reliable. Attendees will learn to distinguish the differences between Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth Amendment interrogation rights.

This program is perfect for attorneys at all levels of experience. 

Learning Objectives:

  • Review of Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth Amendments insofar as Interrogations are concerned
  • Recognize police interrogation tactics which may lead to a false confession from a juvenile
  • Discuss “custody” and “interrogation” within the meaning of Fifth Amendment Miranda rights
  • Compare Fifth and Sixth Amendment interrogation rights
  • Explore high-profile juvenile confession cases


Course Time Schedule:

Eastern Time: 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Central Time: 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Mountain Time: 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Pacific Time: 8:30 AM - 9:30 AM
Alaska Time: 7:30 AM - 8:30 AM
Hawaii-Aleutian Time: 6:30 AM - 7:30 AM

This course is also being presented on the following dates:

Saturday, June 29, 2024
Saturday, July 13, 2024
Saturday, July 27, 2024
Saturday, August 10, 2024
Saturday, August, 24, 2024

LEARN MORE >
Interrogation of Juveniles: Miranda, Voluntariness, and the Right to Counsel