Understanding the Louisiana CLE Requirement
Total CLE Requirement:
12.5 credit hours annually
*8.5 hours must be taken live
*4 may be completed online
*COVID-19 Temporary Change: Pursuant to an Order issued by the Supreme Court of Louisiana, for mandatory continuing legal education compliance year 2020 and 2021, the limitation on “self-study” credits (as defined in Rule 3(d) of Supreme Court Rule XXX) shall be increased to twelve and one half (12.5) hours annually.
Carry forward credits: Attorneys shall be permitted to carry forward a maximum of four (4) 'self -study' credits to the compliance year 2022.
10.5 hours General
1 hour Ethics
1 hour Professionalism
TRTCLE reports completed courses to The Louisiana State Bar on behalf of the attorney.
Newly Admitted Requirement:
New admittees must complete 12.5 credits including 8 hours of ethics, professionalism, or law management before the end of the calendar year that follows their year of admission.
State Contact Information:
Louisiana State Bar Association Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Department
601 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
(T) (504) 566-1600 or
(T) (800) 421-5722
(F) (504) 504-828-1416
Why Choose TRTCLE?
Access our content from the web, mobile devices, and even iPads. Anytime, anywhere.
Our curated team of lecturers is comprised of only the brightest minds in the legal profession.
Approved for Louisiana credit.
TRTCLE is an accredited Louisiana CLE provider.
No matter where you practice, our courses can help you satisfy your CLE credits.
Daily Lectures Across
Learn when it’s most convenient for you with our comprehensive schedule of live and online courses.
Highest Quality Video Content
Watch online courses with crystal-clear audio and video so you never have to miss a single word.
Receive your course certification within minutes of completing a course.