Recognizing and Understanding Conflicts of Interest

Recognizing and Understanding Conflicts of Interest
$99
Add to cart
Monday, December 10, 2018
4:00 p.m. 6:00 p.m. EST
2.4 Credits in
  • General2.40 Ethics

AboutAbout This Course

Conflicts of interest are one of the most complicated areas of law under the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct. Yet it is essential for every lawyer to be able to recognize and understand conflicts of interest in order to avoid serious consequences that include malpractice lawsuits, disciplinary action, disqualification motions, disgorgement of fees, harm to reputation, and loss of business. Experienced ethics instructor Coleen F. Middleton, Esq., explains the basics of conflicts of interest in this 2-hour program. Topics include:

- Specific types of conflicts, including current-client and former-client
conflicts
- When obtaining a waiver from a client is appropriate
- Conflicts in particular practice areas, including real estate and litigation
- When joint representation of clients is permitted
- Ethical screens as a means to prevent imputation of conflicts
- The consequences of conflicts of interest

Time Schedule:
4:00 to 6:00 pm (Eastern)
5:00 pm to 7:00 pm (Atlantic)
3:00 pm to 5:00 pm (Central)
2:00 pm to 4:00 pm (Mountain)
1:00 pm to 3:00 pm (Pacific)

About the Presenters

Coleen F. Middleton, Esq.

Coleen F. Middleton, Esq.

TRTCLE
Practice Area:Criminal Law
Ms. Middleton is the founding member of The Law Offices of Coleen F. Middleton, Esq. PLLC.  As a former Assistant United States Attorney and Princeton graduate, Coleen helps attorneys nationwide to succeed by providing legal research, brief writing, trial support, and related services.  She also represents parties…
Add to cart